27 States Have Banned Union-Security Agreements

As of September 2019, there are laws on the right to work exclusively at the state level. The Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, called the Taft-Hartley Act, allowed states to legislate on the right to work. The Taft-Hartley did not allow local jurisdictions (such as cities and counties) within a state to pass their own right-to-work laws. Attempts to do so in states such as Delaware and Illinois have been repressed. However, in 2016, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals upheld the right of local governments to pass local right-to-work laws in Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee. 2012 Summary of the Law: Nineteen states debated right-to-work legislation at the 2012 session. Four states have passed laws, two of which have either passed or extended right-to-work laws, and two of them have added enforcement or termination provisions to their existing right-to-work laws. Michigan has become a rule of law and Indiana has expanded its right-to-work provisions for school employees only to all private sector jobs. The activities of the 2012 legislature are compared to sixteen states that, during the 2011 legislature, considered right-to-work bills, while none of them were passed. Economist Thomas Holmes compared counties close to the border between states with or without the right to work (while maintaining a number of factors related to constant geography and climate). It found that cumulative employment growth in manufacturing increased by 26 percentage points in legal security states compared to countries without labour law.

[33] However, in light of the study`s design, Holmes states that “my findings do not say that right-to-work laws are important, but that the “Probusiness package” proposed by the Right to Work states seems important.” [34] Moreover, as Kevin Drum and others have said, this result may reflect the relocation of businesses rather than an overall improvement in economic growth, as “companies prefer to relocate to low-cost and lax-state countries.” [35] Currently, 28 states have right-to-work laws. These states include: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri (as of August 28, 2017), Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia (currently not in force because there are legal disputes), Wisconsin and Wyoming. Note: If your state is not mentioned, it currently has no right to work, but this area is constantly evolving, please contact a lawyer from your state for more information. Contrary to what proponents of right-to-work legislation have said in the past, non-legislative states at work do not require workers to form trade unions; This is strictly prohibited by federal law.

Share this Collection